Tiny Desk Live performance : NPR

Rate this post

Baek Hwong, the artist who performs as NoSo, arrived at NPR’s headquarters on a sunny Friday afternoon that adopted every week of relentless rain in Washington, D.C. The change in climate was apt for the Los Angeles-based artist whose music usually sheds mild on darkish instances.

I first found NoSo once they entered the Tiny Desk Contest again in 2019. Though they did not win, their spectacular guitar taking part in, memorable hooks and mawkish lyricism left an enduring impression. They bring about all these parts to their Tiny Desk set, by which they’re accompanied by musicians Marian Li-Pino on drums and Jayla Tang on violin. NoSo’s soft-spoken nature enhances their musical dexterity to create the type intimate efficiency that basically shines within the shut quarters behind the Desk.

Throughout the three-song set, Hwong sings concerning the «quiet suburbia» they grew up in and displays on emotions about their evolving gender id. The ultimate track of the set, «Every part I’ve Bought,» is an aching portrayal of the best way confidence and longing will be upended by gender dysphoria; earlier than taking part in the track, Hwong shares that they’ve «healed quite a bit» since writing it. «I do know if I used to be born pretty, I might be it / I am going to love you with all the pieces I’ve acquired,» they sing quietly over a swelling violin and an viewers of sniffling NPR employees.

NoSo displays on their adolescence — usually granting newfound compassion to their youthful self — throughout their debut album, Keep Proud Of Me, which got here out earlier this yr. They are saying releasing that file and taking part in a Tiny Desk three years after submitting to the Contest seems like «an actual full-circle second.» Towards the top of the set, Hwong smiles and admits: «This can be a dream come true.»


  • «I Really feel You»
  • «Suburbia»
  • «Every part I’ve Bought»


  • Baek Hwong: guitar, vocals
  • Marian Li-Pino: drums
  • Jayla Tang: violin


  • Producer: Bob Boilen
  • Director/Editor: Joshua Bryant
  • Audio Engineer: Josh Rogosin
  • Collection Producer: Bobby Carter
  • Videographers: Joshua Bryant, Maia Stern, Michael Zamora, Sofia Seidel
  • Audio Assistant: Alex Drewenskus
  • Manufacturing Assistant: Jill Britton
  • Tiny Desk Workforce: Suraya Mohamed, Marissa Lorusso, Hazel Cills, Ashley Pointer, Kara Body
  • VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí