Boston champ Evans Chebet wins TCS New York Metropolis Marathon

Rate this post

This yr’s Boston Marathon champion, Evans Chebet, has received Sunday’s extraordinary TCS New York Metropolis Marathon in 2:08:41. Chebet ran a affected person, well-considered race, staying with the chase pack for the primary 24 km, when he threw in a surge indicating he was going for the win. Ethiopia’s Shura Kitata, who had not podiumed since his win on the 2020 London Marathon, completed second, in 2:08:54, and Abdi Nageeye of the Netherlands, the Olympic silver medallist, completed third, in 2:10:31.

It was a dramatic race, as a consequence of Brazil’s Daniel Do Nascimento taking a robust lead from the beginning and holding a two-minute lead till 28 km in, when he ducked right into a porta potty for an 18-second pit cease. Only a few minutes after his rest room break on Sunday, Do Nascimento collapsed onto the street, unable to proceed, and Chebet took over the lead. (It was a heat, humid day in New York, with temperatures within the low 20s Celsius.)

The Brazilian famously fist-bumped Eliud Kipchoge throughout final yr’s Olympic marathon in Sapporo, finally dropping out in appreciable misery; earlier this yr, on the Seoul Marathon in South Korea, he set a nationwide and space file for South America with a 2:04:51. He was eighth on the world championships in Eugene, Ore.

This was Chebet’s NYC debut; he’s the seventh quickest males’s marathoner of all time and had the quickest private greatest time going into the race (2:03:00 from the 2020 Valencia Marathon).

Final yr’s champion, Albert Korir, completed seventh, in 2:13:27.

Scott Fauble was the primary American to cross the end line at the moment; Fauble completed ninth, in 2:13:35. Fellow American Reed Fischer was tenth, in 2:15:23. 2016 Olympic bronze medallist Galen Rupp, who was racing New York for the primary time, dropped out someday after 35 km.

High 10 Males

  1. Evans Chebet (KEN) 2:08:41
  2. Shura Kitata (ETH) 2:08:54
  3. Abdi Nageeye (NED) 2:10:31
  4. Mohamed Reda El Aaraby (MOR) 2:11:00
  5. Surugu Osako (JPN) 2:11:31
  6. Tetsuya Yoroizaka (JPN) 2:12:12
  7. Albert Korir (KEN) 2:13:27
  8. Daniele Meucci (ITA) 2:13:29
  9. Scott Fauble (USA) 2:13:35
  10. Reed Fischer (USA) 2:15:23

Sharon Lokedi received the ladies’s race in her marathon debut, in 2:23:24. She was joined on the rostrum by Lonah Salpeter of Israel (2:23:30), who completed third at this yr’s world championships, and 2022 world champion Gotytom Gebreslase of Ethiopia in third (2:23:39).

Marcel Hug of Switzerland and Susannah Scaroni of the US took down each course information within the wheelchair division.


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí