2022 Javelina Jundred: course information, Canadians, and all of the finish-line enjoyable

Rate this post

Javelina Jundred celebrated its twentieth anniversary with a continuous get together within the Arizona desert, whereas costumed runners accomplished races of 100 miles, 100K, and an evening run of 31K. With a revamped and action-packed reside stream, new course information and a few high-performing Canadians within the combine, the race was an exhilarating experience from begin to end. Javelina Jundred is certainly one of seven golden ticket races, granting the highest two women and men entry to Western States 100 (WSER).

In a deep males’s discipline, Salt Lake Metropolis’s Dakota Jones set a brand new course document, working 12:58:02 for the primary sub-13-hour end ever. Jones was adopted by Boulder’s Jonathan Rea, ending within the third-fastest time ever in 13:05:58. Arlen Glick of Ohio, winner of the 2021 race, rounded out the rostrum in 13:25:48. Each Rea and Jones have accepted their golden tickets for the 2023 WSER.

Fan favorite Brett Hornig of Oregon was fourth in 13:45:00, and Phoenix native Nick Coury, recognized for working adverse splits, did precisely that but once more to take fifth in 13:52:42.

The ladies’s race boasted a discipline no much less achieved, and the highest positions had been onerous to foretell. Triathlete Heather Jackson of Oregon, who not too long ago took a Sixteenth-place end on the IRONMAN World Championships in Kona, led the way in which for a lot of the race in her first-ever extremely. Jackson was ultimately overtaken, and Colorado’s Devon Yanko led the ladies for the win in 14:36:10.

Yanko has had a difficult season coping with some well being setbacks, together with a lupus prognosis. Regardless of that, she managed to greatest her efficiency at Javelina in 2015 by 16 minutes, working the second-fastest time ever within the ladies’s race, and setting a brand new grasp’s course document.

Pennsylvania’s Riley Brady was within the non-binary class and was additionally eligible for the second ladies’s golden ticket, working a easy, good race in 14:45:43. Javelina Jundred is among the first races of its type to supply a non-binary class. Whereas entrants may select the non-binary gender class, in addition they had been in a position to choose to race within the ladies’s or males’s discipline as a way to chase that elusive golden ticket (there are presently solely golden tickets for 2 gender classes), and each Yanko and Brady have now accepted their Western States 100 golden tickets.

Brady is the primary non-binary athlete to safe a golden ticket to WSER, after ending within the third quickest ladies’s time ever on the race. Nicole Bitter ran to 3rd in 15:16:25, besting her 2020 successful time at Javelina by one minute. Omaha’s Kaci Lickteig was fourth in 15:40:45, and Jackson completed with a stable efficiency in fifth place in 15:42:18.

Canadians finishers 

Many Canadians headed to Fort McDowell, Ariz. to hitch the get together at Javelina Jundred. Notable performances included North Van’s Kat Drew, who ran to sixth place in 15:43:03, and Calgary’s Arden Youngerwho claimed the tenth place in 16:34:29.

We caught up with Drew post-race, who shared that she felt bodily good and powerful for a lot of the race, however discovered the loop-style course was difficult mentally. “The warmth didn’t hassle me an excessive amount of and I used to be in a position to keep tremendous in keeping with my fueling technique,” Drew stated. “My favorite half was attending to share miles with so many unimaginable feminine athletes.”

Kat Drew Jenny Quilty JJ 2022_2
Canadian Kat Drew, sixth lady finisher Picture: Jenny Quilty

100 mile Canadian finishers

Girls’s outcomes
 Kat Drew North Van 15:43:03 (sixth lady, thirteenth general)
Arden Younger Calgary 16:34:29 (tenth lady, nineteenth general)
Susan Brown Calgary 23:08:48
Marie-Eve Garneau Montreal 24:10:43
Maxine Colvey Hamilton 27:16:27

Males’s outcomes 
Charles Castonguay Quebec Metropolis 17:10:21
Nick Leach Squamish, B.C. 18:03:31
Bastien-Olivier Hammond Vancouver 19:55:29
Simon Bournival Trois Rivieres, Que. 20:15:02
Marcus Lindstrom Chilliwack, B.C. 20:42:46
Ian Wrightson Calgary 22:16:51
Kevin Bone Vancouver 23:09:25
Brice Ferre Vancouver 23:11:30
Tom Harris Langley, B.C.  23:30:36
Francesco Riccadonna Stouffville, Ont. 24:29:12
Jacques Sidoun Montreal 26:36:00
Adam Tremblay Quispamsis, N.B. 26:51:13
Pierre Collins Montreal 27:50:03
Stuart Farley Vancouver 28:02:15
Rod Giacchetta Calgary 28:35:58
Soren Wakelin Edmonton 29:39:46

For full outcomes, head right here.


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí